In the Configuration area is an option called 'Replace a Person' within the Manage Data section.


This feature can be used when you have a User or a Person that needs to be removed from all or specific records and replaced with another.  This can be used if the Original Person has left the organisation and either a New or existing Person will be taking over some or all of their intelligentcontract records and processes.


Fig 1 - Replace a Person option


When the option is selected you are offered the below screen.  The yellow information text informs of the rules in place for the feature.


Fig 2 - Replace a Person screen


Select the 'Original Person' using the drop down list or click on the magnifying glass to see a full list of existing People records. 


Add the relevant 'New Person' using the drop down list or click on the magnifying glass to see a full list of existing People records.


Include items in Archive? If ticked, then all records currently in the Archive vault assigned to your selected person will alos update to have the new person.  if any records in the archive are restored then they will display the new person - details in the Audit trail will reflect the update.


Creating a 'New Person' record


You have the ability to 'Add New Person' from the drop down lists.  This can be used to create a New Person record without having to leave the screen you are in.


If you do create a New Person record then they are not automatically a 'User' of the system, they a just a Person record in the database. There are some replace Options that will only apply to 'Users'.


Fig 3 - Add New Person option


If you do create a Person record via this screen please Note:


If a Person is allocated to an Alert via a 'Role' then Alert notifications will only go out to 'Internal' People.  


Fig 4 - Alert Role restriction


An Internal Person is linked to the Internal Party via their Person record, if you have not linked this New Person record to the Internal Party then they will be classed as 'External' and will not receive email notifications via a Role.


Fig 5 - Assigning a Person record to a Party


Options


When your Original Person is selected, each Option will display with the number of records that they are currently linked to. If you then select the New Person and that person is a 'User' then more Options will be displayed, such as Approvals and Security Groups.


Fig 6 - List of Options and record count



The Options listed are all the areas in which a Person can be replaced, by default these are all ticked, but you can uncheck the areas that you do not wish to replace.  You can also use the 'Replace all' checkbox to check and uncheck all Options.  



Option Actions


The table below will list all the Options that can be selected and the Action at the system will perform, note that there are constraints for some actions.


OptionsAction
Customised Field ValuesAll Custom Person lookup fields will update.
ContractsAll 'Person' fields on People Link records will update.

Additional information in the record, such as 'Role' or 'Signatory' will not change and will apply to this New Person.
NotesAll 'Notify' fields will update.

Any replies to existing Notes will go to the New Person along with the other Notifies defined.
CollaborationsAll 'Collaborators' fields will update.  

Only Active Collaborations will update, Expired or Closed Collaborations will not update.
TasksAll 'Assigned To' and 'Monitor' fields will update.

Only incomplete Tasks will update.
Alert TemplatesAll templates in existing Alert Lists will update.
Task TemplatesAll templates in existing Task Lists will update.
Contract Person TemplateAll templates in existing Contract Person Lists will update.
AlertsAll named 'Linked People' will update, Linked Roles are NOT affected.

Only Live Alerts will update, including Recurring Alerts.

If you update an Alert that has already triggered, then the next automatic Notification will include the New Person.

Snoozed Alerts will not trigger to the Original Person when the Snooze ends.
KPI'sAll 'Linked Users' fields will update.

You can only assign Users in this field, if your New Person is not a User then the Option will not display. 
Security GroupsEvery Security Group the Original Person was part of will update with the New Person.

You can only assign Users in this field, if your New Person is not a User then the Option will not display.

Note that the New User will now have access to all records and Contracts in those Security Groups.
Security Group MembersIf a User has been assigned as a specific Security Group against a record, then this will update.

You can only assign Users in this field, if your New Person is not a User then the Option will not display. 

The New User will have the same 'Read/Write' or 'Read Only' privileges and the Original User - if these need to be adjusted then they should be done separately.

If a Contract is marked as 'Confidential' then the Confidential Security Groups will update accordingly if the Person Link on a Contract is updated.
ApprovalsIf the Original Person has not yet Approved then they will be replaced with the New Person.

You can only assign Users in this field, if your New Person is not a User then the Option will not display.

This option is only available if your account is set to allow edits to Contracts during the Approval process
Approval GroupsEvery Approval Group the Original Person was part of will update.

You can only assign Users to Approval Groups, if your New Person is not a User then the Option will be greyed out. 
Approval RulesEvery Approval Rule the Original Person was allocated to will update.

You can only assign Users to Approval Groups, if your New Person is not a User then the Option will be greyed out.
Automation Rules - CriteriaIf the Original Person has been used in an Automation Rule as criteria to trigger an Action it will be replaced with the new Person
Automation Rule ActionsAny Automated Action where the Original User is named will update.



Once your Options and People have been selected, press the [Submit] button, this will process and replace the relevant fields with the New Person.  

Fig 7 - Updating process



Fig 8 - Completed process



Once the process is complete the screen will display a list of all the Options and number of records that were updated.  Press the [Close] button to exit out of the screen.



Actions


The Replace a Person feature removes the Original Person from an existing record and populates with the New Person.  It does not create new records with the New Person, if you wish to add new records with this New Person then they must be done in the normal way.  


Note: All other fields on the existing records will stay the same, so please check that your other field data is still relevant to this New Person.  For example the New Person's allocated 'Role' to a Contract.


Note: If you are replacing a Person with someone that is already allocated to the record then the original Person record will be removed.  


Example 1: If you had Contract People links in a Contract such as:


Jane Doe  - Contract Manager

Jack Black - Account Manager


If you replace Jack with Jane, then the record for Jack as Account Manager will be removed.  


You may have other records associated to the 'Role' of Account Manager such as an Alert.  In this instance as there is no longer an Account Manager record the Alert would no longer trigger.


Example 2: If you had an Alert with multiple linked People such as:


Jane Doe 

Jack Black


If you replace Jack with Jane, then Jack would be removed from the Alert and the Alert would only trigger to Jane.


The Audit Trial will record that the 'Original Person' was replaced with the 'New Person' as an 'Update' Action.



Notifications


When Replace a Person is performed then the normal notifications that would automatically trigger when a Person is updated in the usual way will not.  You can make a manual adjustment to the concerned record to trigger a Notification to the New Person if required.