As an administrator it is possible to make changes to how Approvals behave. Navigate to -> Configuration -> Approval -> Configuration
Fig 1 - Approval Configuration form
The usage of each of the approval settings is described in the table below:
|Contract approval active?||If set to 'No' then all components of approvals are hidden from users and none of the other settings, rules, approval groups can be altered.|
When set to 'Yes' then all components are made active.
Note: Switching approvals off will not lose Approval rules, groups or any of the current approval status of contracts. These will be restored as they were before when approvals are switched back on
|Allow user to build approval chain at submission?||If set to 'Yes' then when a user submits a contract for approval the user will be presented with an option that allows them to create an approval chain of their own choosing.|
This is useful if you don’t have any approval rules set up (or very few). The setting facilitates flexible approval.
|Allow Self Approval…||If set to 'Yes', this option will allow a user to self-approve a contract if either:|
|Only Approved Contracts.....||If set to 'Yes' then only contracts that have a status of 'Approved' can use the Electronic Signature functionality|
|Allow users to choose their Supervisor as approver||If set to 'Yes', this option gives the submitter the ability to submit a contract for approval via the 'supervisor' hierarchy.|
Note: If the user submitting has no supervisor configured then the although it will still be shown to the user it will be greyed and can not be used
For more information about how to configure the supervisor for a user click here
|Allow submitter to change approval chain after submission||This option can enable or disable the ability of the user that originally submits a contract for approval to subsequently edit the list of approvers.|
At all times, admin users will have the ability to alter the approval chain after submission
Note: Approvers can never be edited once they have approved or rejected a contract
|Allow "in progress" entities to be edited|
By Default, this setting will be set to “No” so any existing Approvals are unaffected – an in progress contract approval cannot be edited.
If you set the option to “Yes”, any in-progress Contracts can be edited by the either the Approval submitter or the person who is currently assigned to review/approve the contract. As before, any users not part of the Approval request will be locked out and unable to make changes. For parallel Approvals this will result in all people that are part of the Approval request being able to edit the Contract at once.
Note: If an Approver assigned is 'Read Only' then they will not be able to make edits to the Contract, only to Approve or Reject.
|Auto change Approval status to pending when.||This option controls what happens to an approved contract, if the contract is subsequently amended.|
|Approval Portal Enabled||If set to 'Yes' then when the Approval email is received and actioned, the user will be presented with a portal detailing summary information about the contract to enable them to make a decision to Approve or Reject.|
There is also an option to 'Review' the contract, if selected, this option will open up the users intelligentcontract account open at that contract
|Approve or reject from email link requires user to login||When a user is next to action (i.e. approve or reject) a contract, they will receive an email. The email contains links to [Review] the contract.|
If this option is set to No, when a user clicks on [Review], they will not be required to login to their intelligentcontract account in order to review the summary data and then subsequently confirm their approval or rejection.
By requiring a user to login before accepting or rejecting a contract will ensure that, even if emails are intercepted by a 3rd party, they will not gain access to be able to see summary data and/or be able to maliciously approve or reject a contract on behalf of a user.
By not requiring a user to login you are making the system of approval by email much simpler for your users
|Confirmation required||If set to 'Yes' the then when the User approves the contract then they are prompted with Confirmation settings for completion|
Please note that if both checkbox's are ticked then generic Confirmation title and dialog text must be used to apply to Approve, Reject and Cancel actions
|Confirmation dialog title||Field to appropriately name the Confirmation screen|
|Confirmation dialog text||Field to enter Approval Confirmation text, such as a disclaimer|
|User must check confirmation box||If set to 'Yes' then a tickbox will be displayed in the screen that must be checked to confirm the approval|
|Days to wait before sending Approval notification again||This option allows you set the number of days before the system will send a reminder to a user that has not yet approved or rejected a contract assigned to them.|
This can be set a minimum of 1 day. i.e. send a approval notification each day that an approval transaction is outstanding.
|Number of hours between Approval notifications sent to users||This setting controls the number of hours that must elapse before the submitter of a contract can request that a notification be sent to the user that is currently assigned to approve or reject the contract they submitted.|
Only the person that submitted the contract (or an administrator) can request to send additional approval notifications.