You have the option to either 'End' a User by removing access to the account or you can Delete or Archive a User record. If you Delete or Archive a User record, it will be moved to the Archive Vault or Recycle Bin as normal and can be restored at any time.


Navigate to: Configuration => Users & Permissions => Users


Ending a User


If you wish to stop a User from accessing your account but do not wish to delete or archive the User record then you can 'End' them.  'Ending' a User can be done in 3 ways:


Prevent Login - Flag this as 'Yes' and the User will not be able to Login but will still retain a Licence 

Assign Licence - Untick this checkbox to remove the Licence, the User will not be able to Login and the freed Licence will be available for someone else.

End Date - When the End Date entered is reached the User will not be able to Login but will still retain a Licence


Fig 1 - Options to 'End a User'


If the User that you have selected to End is still assigned to existing active records then you will receive a pop up warning listing active transaction records they are associated to, such as Alerts triggered but not completed, Tasks not completed or outstanding Approval requests.


Fig 2 - End User active records warning pop up 


These records should be transferred to an alternate User so they can be processed, if not, then they will stay with the Ended User and active records such as Alerts or Tasks may not be completed.



Note: 'Ending' a User does not remove then from the database, their User record and Person record will still be available for selection to assign to records, such as Approval requests.


Note: If you are using Automation Rules or Lists then these must also be updated otherwise they will still automatically assign your 'Ended' User 


Deleting or Archiving a User record


Before Deleting or Archiving a User record it is recommended that you complete some housekeeping.


If all records assigned to this User should be assigned to another User then you can use the 'Replace a Person' feature to achieve this or manually update.


For more information about 'Replace a Person' click here.


If you do not move all these records over then the User will still be associate to the record but will have a suffix of (Deleted) or (Archived).


Fig 2 - Deleted user assigned to a record


If you wish to completely remove a User record then this can be done by accessing the [...] option and selecting either Archive or Delete.  This can also be done using the [...] record inside the User record.


Fig 3 - Deleting or Archiving a User


Archiving or Deleting a User record completely removes them from the system, their associate Person record will also be removed and they will also be removed for selection to be assigned to a record, such as assigning to a Contract, or Approval requests.


The History of this User will be retained in the Audit trail.


If the User that you have selected is still assigned to existing active records then you will receive a pop up warning listing each record they are associated to.


Fig 4 - Delete/Archive active records warning pop up


Again, these records should be transferred to an alternate User so they can be processed, if not, then they will stay with the Archived/Deleted User and active records such as Alerts or Tasks may not be completed.


Each record listed in the pop up is linked to the actual record so if you click on a link it will open that record so you can adjust manually. Alternatively you can [Cancel] the action and manually update each record and Delete/Archive the User after. 


If you wish to continue with the Archive or Delete then press [Continue].  Any existing records will remain associated to this User unless you update them.  


If you do not move all these records over then the User will still be associate to the record but will have a suffix of (Deleted) or (Archived).


Note: If you are using Automation Rules or Lists then these must also be updated otherwise they will still automatically assign your Archived/Deleted User


Note: If you have created an Automation Rule to automatically send a Contract for Approval and the User you are trying to Archive/Delete is listed in that Approval request then the Archive/Delete process will stop.  


The system will list the Rules they are associated to in a pop up.  Each Rule listed is a link, when selected, the corresponding Rule will open for you to update. Adjust the Rule(s) and then you will be able to Archive/Delete the User record.


Fig 5 - Unable to delete User due to Automation Approval Action


For more information about Automated Approval requests please click here